Herbal Tea for Colds, Throat Irritation and Infection

Last weekend for about 2 days I had a really bad throat irritation and infection and it was really painful, so much so that I could not even swallow without cringing.  I looked inside and my glands were swollen and I could see the back of my throat was red and inflamed.

With children in school, nursing baby full-time, working full-time and everything else I did not have the time to make a 45 minute trip to my doctor so I pulled out my herbal health kit.  I started taking concentrated drops of oregano and rosemary oil every 3 hours in addition to my Immunity Boosting Teas.  My husband then made me several cups of strong tea with lemon, garlic, thyme, and a bunch of anti-inflammatory herbs.

But the winners in this story are garlic and thyme for their amazing properties.  In less than 2 days my painful problem that probably would have turned into a serious infection was gone.

Thyme and garlic unlike what many people are aware of make a great tea to boost immunity, rid the body of infectious bacteria, viruses and has great astringent properties

Thyme is an aromatic herb. It’s antiseptic and used as a circulatory stimulant when taken hot. It’s also a bronchial antispasmodic and expectorant.

Thyme is taken for fevers, colds and flu, coughs, bronchitis, asthma, bronchial spasms, and expectoration of upper respiratory catarrh.  It’s also used as As a gargle for sore throat, tonsillitis and laryngitis and to relieve colic, flatulence and diarrhea.

It’s best to use Organic Thyme, you can purchase store-bought fresh Thyme or the dried leaves.  If you use the dried leaves make sure to store in a cool dry and dark place.

To make the tea I made just boil some distilled water and pour it over about a teaspoon of dried Thyme and chamomile and 3 mashed cloves of garlic.  Let it steep for about 15 minutes strain off the herbs.  Add the juice of one lemon and sweeten with honey.  If you want you can also add some dried ginger root or the juice of fresh ginger root.  Enjoy this tea 3 to 4 times a day and you will see the difference.

La Chica Organica can get you Organic Dried Thyme and many other Organic Herbs at a great price- its available in our winter catalog which you can get by emailing us at LaChicaOrganica@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

