The Coconut Water Miracle

There aren’t many products in this world that:

Replenish electrolytes

Regulate blood sugar levels

Help lose weight

Taste great

Are fat free

Cholesterol-free

Low calorie

Are non toxic and without side effects

Recently I started drinking about 50 to 70 ounces of coconut water every day.  I started this to help me with overall hydration.

I found out that the coconut water helped me greatly when I was having low blood pressure.  But what really surprised me is that when I weighed myself, just 2 weeks after I started drinking high amounts of coconut water, I had lost 6 pounds which was not part of my plan.  I must say that I did not diet, exercise or do anything to lose this weight during these two weeks.  I could not exercise in any way due to monitoring of my heart and blood pressure. The only thing I had done differently was my consumption of coconut water.

After thinking about my weight loss it made perfect sense, here’s why:

-          Research has shown that coconut water increases your metabolic rate – Coconut water is a great way to keep you hydrated, and if you are hydrated, you are less likely to store fat in your body to help raise your body temperature. Your body temperature drops a little bit if you are dehydrated. During dehydration, your metabolism is affected negatively in this way. Fighting off this weight increase that you would experience from being dehydrated is one reason why drinking pure coconut water helps you shed pounds.

-          Coconut water is said to act as a natural diuretic

-          Coconut water has absolutely no cholesterol, so drinking more coconut water in place of beverages that have cholesterol is an automatic inducer of weight loss. Fat-wise, coconut water contains less fat that even milk, which means you stand to gain less weight or even lose weight than if you continue drinking milk. In comparison to other popular drinks like orange juice, for instance, coconut water comes with fewer calories, meaning that if you substitute coconut water for orange juice, assuming you drink significant amounts of orange juice, you ought to shed some pounds.

So all in all if you drink coconut water, you can’t go wrong.  Coconut water boasts all of these amazing benefits and it tastes great.  It’s also loaded with calcium, potassium, magnesium, sodium and natural sugar.

If you live near a coconut tree you can have an ample supply of free coconut water which is a plus.  The best form of coconut water is from a freshly cut young green coconut.  You can also make coconut kefir, a fermented drink that is beneficial to those suffering from gut problems such as candida overgrowth and other digestive issues.  To learn how to make your own coconut kefir click here.

Personally I have enjoyed coconut water since I was a child.  My dad often got them from neighboring trees or purchased them at a local market.  But if you are at work and don’t have a machete or a large knife with you, here are a few brands of great pure coconut water that you can buy and take on the go:

Blue Monkey is great tasting and for those that prefer a sweeter coconut water.

O.N.E. is great tasting not as sweet as Blue Monkey, buy very good.

An organic version that also tastes great and is similar in taste to O.N.E. brand.

A great place to purchase wholesale coconut water is Vitacost.  They have excellent prices and if you order through this link you will receive $10 off your first purchase. You can also click on the links above and purchase from Amazon.

Many Blessings to you and yours.

LCO

Sources:

LCO’s What are you Drinking Lecture

FitToday.com

7 thoughts on “The Coconut Water Miracle

  1. Pingback: Vita Coco 100% Pure Coconut Water « mytopweightloss

  2. Coconut water has more potassium than any oher drink. This is a great article. All cells in the body have a sodium-potassium pump that depends on high potassium and low sodium. But due to salt, people consume too much sodium and not enough potassium hurting their celluar health.

    • Hi Chuck
      Thx for your comment. very true what you say. Coconuts are amazing not just for the water they have but for their unrefined oil, their nectar also used as sugar and the yummy meat. In my kitchen we use everything from the sacred coconut lolol even the shells are used for crafting.
      Blessings
      LCO

  3. I am curious to know if the coconut waters have any sweetners or sugar in them. My husband and I are diabetic but would like the benefits of the coconut water.

  4. Pingback: Trying Something New: Coconut Water - Running with the Haynes

  5. Hi!
    I’m 23 year old girl living in India, diagonsed with PCOS. Can i consume coconut water which has natural sugar in it? will it help me with PCOS? As you may know that in PCOS glucose levels are high in blood.

    Also you had mentioned about carrot and beet root juice having miraculous property but they are high in sugar. Can i start my day with juice in PCOS?

Leave a Reply

