Giving Thanks after a Night in the Pediatric ER

I just had to share this picture with you.  Our little one turned 2 yesterday.  We were serving birthday dinner and he hit his head and started to bleed.  So off to get emergency care.  It was the first time I had ever had that happen with one of the children, so mama almost had a mini heart attack and poor daddy had to wipe him down and clean his head.

Contrary to popular belief, LCO can not stand the site of blood.  I know, I know.  It seems ridiculous but believe it or not, that was the determining factor for me to not pursue a career in the medical world.  Everything else about medicine fascinates me but I can’t stand to see blood.  So I opted for being a natural health educator, health and wellness researcher and herbal medicine crafter, which I enjoy with all of my heart.

Anyways, I am VERY thankful to God that it was not worse and that he is well and recuperating after a few staples in his head.  On our way to the urgent care facility, I gave him homeopathic meds to calm him and reduce pain and inflammation.  After saying a quick prayer, I too took a few drops of Bach Flower Remedies to calm my nerves.
We took him to After Hours Pediatrics where the attention from the doctor and staff was simply amazing.  Below our little one is pictured with the doctor that treated him.

But in the case where someone is bleeding and you cannot stop the blood and don’t have quick access to medical care, what could you do?

There is a little herb that I treasure.  Its called Plantain (Plantago major).  It is used as a poultice on the outside and taken as a tea on the inside.  It is a safe and effective treatment for bleeding because it quickly stops blood flow and encourages the repair of damaged tissue.

Plantain is an herb that you should never go without.  At home we use plantain in tea, baths, poultices, and soaks.  The heated leaves are used as a wet dressing for wounds, skin inflammations, malignant ulcers, cuts, stings and swellings and said to promote healing without scars. Poultice of hot leaves is bound onto cuts and wounds to draw out thorns, splinters and inflammation.

Hope you stay safe this weekend.

Lots of Love

LCO

4 thoughts on “Giving Thanks after a Night in the Pediatric ER

  1. Glad Daddy was there and Mommy didn’t faint! :-) Very happy to hear Aaron is okay. Humm, only plantain I have heard of is platanos – LOL! You really are a great resource of herbal knowledge. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

